Time to Upgrade Certifications and 463 Musings

I’ve been a bit behind with my certifications. The last time I completed one was in 2012. There was a time of my life where I was getting a new certification every year. Strangely enough, this is before I became active in speaking with PASS. I found that it’s difficult to balance our usual daily life along with acquiring certifications, speaking at events, and writing for technical sites.

I have no regrets, but this is merely just a reflection of things.

After a long break, I feel it’s time to get up to date. I attempted a practice exam for 70-463 at the PASS Summit in 2014 and I thought it was absolutely horrible. The exam name is such a huge misnomer. There’s very little of anything about that particular exam that has to do with data warehousing. Most of it seems to be in regards to package and project configuration and deployment. Of course, I do feel these things are valuable for a DBA to understand. I have had a lot of deployments in the past for complex applications that required SSIS packages to do one-time data imports. Understanding the configuration and deployment process is an administrative task more than it is a BI task.

The path for my certification upgrade will consist of the following exams:

  • 70-457 – Transition Your MCTS on SQL Server 2008 to MCSA: SQL Server 2012, Part 1
  • 70-458 – Transition Your MCTS on SQL Server 2008 to MCSA: SQL Server 2012, Part 2
  • 70-459 – Transition Your MCITP: Database Administrator 2008 or MCITP: Database Developer 2008 to MCSE: Data Platform

Upon review, I noticed most of the 463 content is in the 70-458 exam. I’ve decided that I do want to upgrade, and I plan to post my learning process.

Leave a Reply

